Bloustein doctoral students awarded 2022 Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowships

December 20, 2022

Bloustein doctoral students Angela Johnson-Rodriguez, Wei San Loh, and Ellen O. White are the 2022 recipients of Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowships. The fellowships are awarded by the Federal Highway Administration for the Department of Transportation, and are given to doctoral students for their work on transportation planning and policy.

The Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship Program (DDETFP) awards merit-based fellowships to students pursuing degrees in transportation-related disciplines. This nationally competitive program advances the transportation workforce by helping to attract the nation’s brightest minds to the field of transportation, encouraging future transportation professionals to seek advanced degrees, and helping to retain top talent in the U.S. transportation industry. DDETFP is administered by the Federal Highway Administration and generally results in 150-200 grants annually, subject to the availability of funds.

Angela Johnson-Rodriguez

Angela Johnson-Rodriguez is a second year PhD Student in Planning and Public Policy. Her research is focused on the connections between race, identity, and transportation justice. So far, she has contributed to a series of papers investigating the re-framing of automated enforcement to garner support. Before returning to academia Spring 2021, she was the Statewide Organizing Director of Transportation for Massachusetts and a member of the Massachusetts Bicycle and Pedestrian Advisory Board. Angela is also President Emeritus of the board of the Boston Cyclists Union, where she served as a member for six years. She earned an MS in Urban and Regional Policy from Northeastern University and a BA in Interdisciplinary Studies, with a concentration in Urban and Public Affairs, from the University of Texas at Arlington. 

Wei San Loh is a Ph.D. candidate in the School of Planning and Public Policy at Rutgers University. Her research interest centers around the decarbonization of transportation and social equity. She currently investigates the concerns surrounding used-electric vehicles and accessibility to electric charging stations for lower-income households. Before starting the Ph.D. program, she was a research analyst at the World Bank contributing to analytical work for policy reforms. Wei San holds a Master’s degree in International and Development Economics from Yale University and a Bachelor’s degree in Economics from Soka University of America.

Ellen Oettinger White is a transportation planner, spatial analyst, and landscape designer who uses a variety of digital tools as well as qualitative methods to analyze the environmental effects of transportation policy, practice, and infrastructure. In her dissertation, she is investigating large-scale roadside tree removal as carried out by state highway agencies, who justify the practice with a 1960s engineering concept called the “clear zone.” Prior to beginning a PhD, Ellen received a master’s in urban planning from Harvard and a master’s in landscape architecture from Rutgers. She is secretary of the Transportation Research Board’s Landscape and Environmental Design Committee and was a 2021-22 Landscape Architecture Foundation Fellow for Innovation and Leadership.

Recent Posts

Kelly O’Brien (MCRP ’09) Named Fairfax City Hometown Hero

On July 15th, Kelly O'Brien (MCRP '09)  was recognized as a Hometown Hero during Fox 5 DC's Zip Trip visit to Fairfax City. "Although I don't think of myself as a hero, I am grateful for the chance to express my dedication to serving my community and shed light on the...

Winecoff: Working Paper on Health Insurance Enrollment

Spillovers in Public Benefit Enrollment: How does Expanding Public Health Insurance for Working-Age Adults affect Future Health Insurance Choices? Abstract Enrollment in one public benefit program often affects enrollment in others. We study life-course spillovers by...

$21.1 million Awarded for the Safe Routes to School Program

The Murphy Administration announced $21.1 million for 23 grants under the Safe Routes to School (SRTS) program on July 10, 2024. The New Jersey Safe Routes to School Program, supported by the New Jersey Department of Transportation, is a statewide initiative with a...

Deanna Moran Named MA Chief Coastal Resilience Officer

Deanna Moran, AICP (MPP/MCRP '16) was named the Chief Coastal Resilience Officer by the Healey-Driscoll Administration to address climate change impacts along Massachusetts’ coastline. Energy and Environmental Affairs (EEA) Secretary Rebecca Tepper announced Deanna...

NJSPL – Financial Literacy in New Jersey

By Parul Jain and Olusola Omotoso  Broadly stated, financial literacy refers to the knowledge and skills necessary for making sound financial choices within a business context, which is deemed critical for business operation and growth. While definitions and...

Upcoming Events

Event Series CAREERS

Virtual Career Drop-ins


Stop by virtually on Mondays (except for holidays) beginning September 9th through December 16th between 11 am and 1 pm to ask a quick (15 min) career-related question of Bloustein […]