Undergraduate Programs

Thank you for your interest in the undergraduate programs at the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy.

The Bloustein School educates a select pool of students, preparing them for both public and private sector careers, teaching and research professions and service at all levels of government.

The Bloustein School provides students a unique opportunity to pursue their passion for public service and research and offers bachelor degrees in five major fields. The school also offers eight minor programs. With an undergraduate population of approximately 900 students, the Bloustein School is small enough to offer students individual academic support and the focus of a professional school, but large enough for students to enjoy all the benefits, resources, and opportunities of a leading public research university.

Student Projects

Under the direction of faculty and research staff, students at the Bloustein School analyze real-world issues for real clients and develop real solutions. From planning studios to policy practicums to applied field experiences, students use a range of analytic, design, or research techniques to gain practical experience. They consider socioeconomic, demographic, environmental, political, and other conditions as well as stakeholder engagement as they research and assess projects, and are encouraged to use “best practices” in order to develop solutions that are equitable and efficient.

Visit our Student Projects page

Undergraduate students that are declared in a Bloustein School major fall into one of the two following categories:

Joint Degree Students

  • A Rutgers-New Brunswick student who has declared one of the Bloustein School majors while remaining in their primary unit (SAS or SEBS)
  • The student is required to complete the core curriculum of their primary unit AND the Bloustein School major requirements.

Direct Admit Students

  • A student that is admitted directly to the Bloustein School either by transferring from an outside school or completing a school-to-school transfer from another Rutgers school.
  • The Bloustein School is the student’s primary unit, so the student is required to complete the Bloustein School General Education Requirements, the major program requirements, and adhere to the school’s academic policies and procedures.
  • The Bloustein School does not require completion of a minor or second major for Direct Admit students.

Career Services for Undergraduate Students