Bloustein students awarded APTF scholarships

The American Public Transportation Foundation (APTF) recently announced that Bloustein School Masters in City and Regional Planning (MCRP) students Alexander Anhwere-James and Sean Varsolona are the recipients of 2013 APTF Scholarships.

All member organizations of the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) are given the opportunity to nominate and sponsor upper class or graduate level college students to receive APTF Scholarships awarded annually to assist with tuition costs or other educational expenses. Each summer the APTF awards a minimum of fourteen (14) new scholarships of at least $2500 each for the following academic school year (fall semester) to individuals in public transportation industry-related fields of study.

Alexander is the recipient of the Shirley DeLibero Scholarshipawarded to an African-American applicant dedicated to a career in public transportation. Sean is the Richard J. Bouchard Scholarship recipient, awarded to an applicant dedicated to a career in public transportation planning and development.

The mission of the American Public Transportation Foundation (APTF) is to increase and retain the number of young professionals entering the public transportation field as a career in order to sustain growth and improvement throughout the industry.