Jeanne Herb is recipient of NJPHA President’s Award

April 24, 2023

Jeanne Herb, Executive Director of the Environmental Analysis and Communications Group at the Bloustein School, is the recipient of the 2021 – 2023 New Jersey Public Health Association’s President’s Award. She was honored at the NJPHA Annual Conference and Award Ceremony on April 21, 2023.

Established in 1983 by John Carlano, former president and lifelong member of the NJPHA, the President’s Award is presented to an individual(s) for exemplary work on the front lines of public health by the current president of the NJPHA.

Jeanne’s work intersects health equity with social determinants of health, environmental sustainability, state, and local public policy, and inclusive, participatory decision-making. It includes studying public health capacity in New Jersey, supporting the Division of Disability Services’ Inclusive Healthy Communities program, co-facilitating the New Jersey Climate Change Alliance, and chairing a National Academy of Sciences Workshop Planning Committee on the topic of Communities, Climate Change, and Health Equity.

Prior to joining Rutgers University in 2010, she spent 20 years at the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection, where she led programs related to environmental health, environmental justice, sustainable development, and climate change.

She is a member of the Healthy New Jersey 2030 Advisory Council, the New Jersey State League of Municipalities Education Foundation Board of Trustees, and the Reinvestment Fund’s Building Healthier, More Equitable Communities initiative.

She is a graduate of Robert Wood Johnson Foundation’s Culture of Health Leaders Program and the Rutgers Leadership Academy.

Founded in 1875, NJPHA is one of the oldest public health organizations in the United States. Its mission is to strengthen, advocate, and advance public health in New Jersey. 

Recent Posts

Prof. Julia Sass Rubin: Advocate for Democracy

Original article published in TAPintoPrinceton, June 15, 2024 By Pam Hersh Princeton, NJ – Tuesday, June 4, Primary Election Day in New Jersey, was a big expletive-deleted deal for Princeton resident Julia Sass Rubin, whose name appeared nowhere on any ballot. Rubin,...

Nikpour Receives Office of Disability Services Award

Professor Fereydoun Nikpour was selected for the Office of Disability Services Faculty Honor Roll. The Faculty Honor Roll is a new initiative to recognize instructors who go above and beyond to support the work of the Office of Disability Services (ODS). ODS staff...

Heldrich Report: NJ’s Energy-Efficiency Workforce Needs

New Jersey's Energy-Efficiency Workforce Needs, Infrastructure, and Equity Assessment New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy’s Energy Master Plan and Executive Order 315 set a goal to reduce fossil fuel usage to 100% clean energy by 2035. The Executive Order also called for...

Shaul Picker Receives 2024 Mortensen-Voorhees Award

Shaul Picker is the 2024 recipient of the Mortensen-Voorhees Award for Achievement in Transportation Studies. This award is granted annually to the highest-achieving student with a concentration in transportation at the Edward J. Bloustein School of Urban Planning and...

NJSPL – Key Insights from Early Offshore Wind Implementation

By Jessica Parineet Offshore wind development is in its early stages in the United States, with just under one gigawatt (GW) of utility scale capacity constructed. State decarbonization goals have catalyzed industry progress thus far, however the Biden administration...

Upcoming Events

Latest Past Events

Jersey City Alumni Mixer

Zeppelin Hall Biergarten 88 Liberty View Dr, Jersey City

Join us for an alumni mixer in #JerseyCity on Thursday, June 6th at Zeppelin Hall Biergarten. Parking for Zeppelin Hall is FREE - more information can be found here: This […]