Stuart Shapiro, Ph.D. Named Permanent Dean of Bloustein School

Dear Rutgers–New Brunswick Community,

Please join me in congratulating Stuart Shapiro, whom I have appointed permanent Dean of the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, an appointment that follows his distinguished service since January 2022 as Interim Dean.

As Bloustein’s interim leader, Dean Shapiro hired 10 new faculty members representing nearly 20 percent of Bloustein’s faculty, prioritized the recovery of Bloustein’s community following disruptions caused by the pandemic, and led the school’s 30th anniversary celebration. He previously served Bloustein as Associate Dean of Faculty, supervising faculty hiring, promotion, and discipline, and for seven years as Director of the Public Policy graduate program, in which he helped create two new dual degrees and an undergraduate major and minor in public policy. He also serves as a Professor in the Bloustein School, has taught undergraduate and graduate courses on public policy and related subjects, and serves as Principal Investigator of the New Jersey State Policy Lab.

A scholar of U.S. regulatory policy, Dean Shapiro has written four books and publishes work in political science, public administration, and public policy journals, as well as law reviews. He has been quoted extensively in the popular press and regularly writes op-eds for The Hill.  Dean Shapiro joined the Bloustein School in 2003 after receiving his Ph.D. from Harvard University and working for five years at the U.S. Office of Management and Budget.

Dean Shapiro has been an invaluable leader and educator, and I remain grateful for his outstanding contributions to Rutgers–New Brunswick’s continual striving for excellence. I am grateful as well to entire search committee, chaired by Dean Adrienne Eaton of the School of Management and Labor Relations, that led the nationwide search which resulted in this appointment.


Francine Conway, Ph.D.
Chancellor-Provost, Rutgers University-New Brunswick