Anne Strauss-Wieder to present Thomas B. Deen Distinguished Lecture at annual TRB meeting in January 2022

August 23, 2021

Ms. Anne Strauss-Wieder, Director, Freight Planning, North Jersey Transportation Planning Authority (NJTPA) and a lecturer in the Bloustein School’s graduate urban planning program, is the 2022 recipient of the Transportation Research Board (TRB Thomas B. Deen Distinguished Lectureship. Ms. Strauss-Wieder is recognized for her contributions to the transportation community in freight mobility, resilience and business continuity, and “freight as a good neighbor” effective practices.

Ms. Strauss-Wieder has more than 40 years of public and private sector experience involving supply chains, industrial and economic development, resilience, and multi-modal freight movement. She has authored numerous assessments of emerging trends and issues and is often at ports, in industrial space, and at other freight operations. In her current role, she works proactively on addressing key regional freight issues and trends and is also responsible for expanding collaborations with private sector organizations and partner agencies to create region-wide and multi-state involvement in advancing freight initiatives, policies, and actions. Her work additionally includes numerous other initiatives that increase the awareness, effectiveness, and value of freight operations on a national level.

The lectureship recognizes the career contributions and achievements of an individual in one of the areas covered by TRB’s Technical Activities Division. Originally known as the Transportation Research Board Distinguished Lectureship, the award was renamed in 2002 in honor of the eighth TRB Executive Director, who served with distinction from 1980 to 1994. Honorees are invited to present overviews of their technical areas including evolution, present status, and prospects for the future. TRB also publishes each lecture in a volume of the Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board. Ms. Strauss-Wieder will delivered her lecture, “Evolving with Rapidly Shifting Supply Chains and Freight Systems: The Past, the Present, and the Emerging Future,” on Monday, January 10, 2022, as part of TRB’s 2022 Annual Meeting.

Ms. Strauss-Wieder is recognized nationally and internationally for her understanding of the freight and logistics industry; successful project facilitation and delivery; innovative combination of economic development with transportation investment; private sector, elected official, and community engagement; work in resiliency and business continuity; and widely-used economic impact assessments.

Anne Strauss-Wieder is an active TRB volunteer and has virtually uninterrupted service as a member TRB committees, task forces, sections, groups, and panels since 1985. She is a past chair of the Freight Systems Group, the Standing Technical Committee on Freight Transportation Planning and Logistics, and the National Cooperative Highway Research Program Panel on Characteristics and Growth of Freight Transportation Demand. She currently chairs the Technical Activities Division Section on Transportation System Resilience. In recognition of her service to TRB, in 2005 she was named as an Emeritus Member of the Standing Technical Committee on Freight Transportation Planning and Logistics.

In addition to her service to TRB, Ms. Strauss-Wieder has served or is serving in leadership roles in several national professional organizations including the Council of Supply Chain Management Professionals and the NAIOP (Commercial Real Estate Development Association). She is an appointed member of the U.S. Department of Commerce’s Advisory Committee on Supply Chain Competitiveness and served as a member of the U.S. Maritime Administration’s Marine Transportation System National Advisory Committee. She also developed and teaches a graduate course on freight and public policy at Rutgers University.

Ms. Strauss-Wieder has a bachelor’s degree and a master’s degree in Regional Science from the University of Pennsylvania and was a Lead New Jersey 2010 Fellow.

Recent Posts

Nikpour Receives Office of Disability Services Award

Professor Fereydoun Nikpour was selected for the Office of Disability Services Faculty Honor Roll. The Faculty Honor Roll is a new initiative to recognize instructors who go above and beyond to support the work of the Office of Disability Services (ODS). ODS staff...

Heldrich Report: NJ’s Energy-Efficiency Workforce Needs

New Jersey's Energy-Efficiency Workforce Needs, Infrastructure, and Equity Assessment New Jersey Governor Phil Murphy’s Energy Master Plan and Executive Order 315 set a goal to reduce fossil fuel usage to 100% clean energy by 2035. The Executive Order also called for...

Shaul Picker Receives 2024 Mortensen-Voorhees Award

Shaul Picker is the 2024 recipient of the Mortensen-Voorhees Award for Achievement in Transportation Studies. This award is granted annually to the highest-achieving student with a concentration in transportation at the Edward J. Bloustein School of Urban Planning and...

NJSPL – Key Insights from Early Offshore Wind Implementation

By Jessica Parineet Offshore wind development is in its early stages in the United States, with just under one gigawatt (GW) of utility scale capacity constructed. State decarbonization goals have catalyzed industry progress thus far, however the Biden administration...

EJB Talks: Political Update with Stuart Shapiro and Amy Cobb

Analyzing Trump's Guilty Verdict and the 2024 Election Outlook Stuart Shapiro welcomes back Amy Cobb MPAP '18 for a political update in the final EJB Talks episode of the spring 2024 season. They discuss the potential consequences of Trump's guilty verdict for...

Upcoming Events

Latest Past Events

Jersey City Alumni Mixer

Zeppelin Hall Biergarten 88 Liberty View Dr, Jersey City

Join us for an alumni mixer in #JerseyCity on Thursday, June 6th at Zeppelin Hall Biergarten. Parking for Zeppelin Hall is FREE - more information can be found here: This […]