Bloustein MCRP candidates Daehee Kim, Thalya Reyes receive APTF scholarships

The American Public Transportation Foundation (APTF) recently announced that Bloustein School Masters in City and Regional Planning (MCRP) students Daehee Kim and Thalya Reyes (dual MPP candidate) are the recipients of 2017 APTF Scholarships.

This marks the seventh straight year at least one Bloustein student has been awarded APTF scholarships; overall, 10 Bloustein students have received scholarships during that time.

All member organizations of the American Public Transportation Association (APTA) are given the opportunity to nominate and sponsor upper class or graduate level college students to receive APTF Scholarships awarded annually to assist with tuition costs or other educational expenses. Each summer the APTF awards scholarships of at least $2500 each for the following academic school year (fall semester) to individuals in public transportation industry-related fields of study.

Daehee is the recipient of the Jack R. Gilstrap Scholarship in the amount of $5000, awarded to the applicant receiving the highest overall score in the final ranking. Thalya is the recipient of the Shirley DeLibero Scholarship in the amount of $5000, awarded to an African-American applicant dedicated to a career in public transportation. Scholarship recipients are selected based on demonstrated interest in the public transportation industry as a career, academic achievement, essay content and quality, financial need, and involvement in extracurricular citizenship and leadership activities.

The mission of the American Public Transportation Foundation (APTF) is to increase and retain the number of young professionals entering the public transportation field as a career in order to sustain growth and improvement throughout the industry.